My Design Wall….Finally!

I’ve been piecing quilts on the floor for years! And now I’m finally able to say that I have my very own design wall! I’ve been pestering the Hubs for awhile now to make me a design wall, and he finally gave in and did it! Woohoo!

For those of you who have no idea what the heck a design wall is….well, it’s pretty simple. In quilting, it is sometimes necessary to lay out all your pieces to see how they look before sewing them together. I’ve done this with all my quilts since I rarely use a written pattern. Usually I have to lay them out on the floor and risk the pieces getting hurt or out of order. Most of the time, I have to pick them up on a daily basis so that nothing happens to the fabric. BUT a design wall fixes all my problems. The idea is to be able to arrange my pieces on the wall and leave them up for as long as I need without worry of them getting stepped on, ripped, or out of order.

To make a design wall, I (and by “I” I really mean,” the Hubs”) took two 4×8 pieces of foam insulation (you can get these at Lowe’s, Home Depot etc.) and covered them with a piece of 96×108 cotton batting (the same as you would use in a regular quilt). Hubs stapled the batting to the back of the foam insulation for me. Then all I had to do was lean the boards up against the wall and tack them lightly to the top.

Here is a picture to demonstrate what I’m talking about:

If your foam board reaches from floor to ceiling, you may not have to fasten it to the wall. Then it would be moveable if necessary. We had to shave off some of the foam to make sure the batting would fit all the way around both pieces, so my boards didn’t fit snug against the ceiling.
The batting around the foam insulation provides the “stickiness” for my fabric pieces to lay nicely on the board without falling off. Think of it as an over-sized felt kid’s story board. I can easily move around the pieces without using tape, glue, tacks etc.
I’m really excited to start using my design wall, and I know just the project! The rainbow quilt I’m making for a friend is going to take a lot of rearranging to make the pieces fit just right. This design wall will be perfect, I can just feel it!!
Any more questions on how to make your own, feel free to comment or send me an email!

Leave a Reply

