Towel Cake Bridal Shower Gift

My best friend is getting married in one week! Where has the time gone!? Anyway, a few months ago I went to her bridal shower, as all dutiful bridesmaids do. I was torn with what I wanted to get her. I’m not one to go for the card and money cop out or the usual bagged gift either.

SO….I stole a gift idea from my sister. Teehee πŸ˜€ I made a Towel Cake. It really is exactly what it sounds like….a cake made out of towels. No you can’t eat it, but it does look pretty cool.

As you can see, I’m a big fan of color. Although, to my credit, most of the stuff I used was on the registry….most of it. For certain, the towels, clips, and pizza pan. I may or may not have added the measuring cups and spatulas for added color fun. BUT she does have orange pots and pans, so the orange kitchen stuff should match nicely. πŸ™‚
The gift was a hit at the shower. The bride’s mother is an elementary school teacher, so there were a lot of other teachers attending the shower. They gushed over my towel cake and just *had* to know who made it. I was pretty pumped it was so well received. Of course, my friend didn’t want to take it apart she loved it so much. But alas, traveling with that awkwardly tall cake was not easy. So it came apart and got packed away with the other presents.
I also have to give credit where credit is due. I did not come up with this idea on my own. My sister originally made one for my bridal shower when I got married a few years ago.
Most of the stuff she used was on my registry as well. As you can see, hers looks a little more like a cake, whereas mine just looks like a giant can of confetti exploded everywhere. But to each his own, I suppose. I know I loved mine so much, I just had to make one for my bf. πŸ™‚
Also, if you can’t tell, my sister is way better at photography than me… what with all the lace in the background. Please excuse my messy craft space/kitchen in the background of my picture.

2 responses to “Towel Cake Bridal Shower Gift

Leave a Reply

