Rainbow Quilt Finished

Hooray another quilt finished! I’m proud to show you the Rainbow Quilt I recently finished for a friend. She is crazy obsessed with rainbows (but we love her anyway lol). It was pretty fun (and difficult) to use ALL those colors and patterns. In the end I chose to gradually fade light to dark from top to bottom on the quilt top. So no, that is not a trick of the sun in the picture. 🙂

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any close up pictures of the entire quilt. But I think it looks better from farther away because that way you can see all the colors.

For the back, my friend chose a black and white print. At first I thought the black might be way too dark when compared to the front, but after a while it grew on me. And then one day something clicked and that’s when I decided to add in the rainbow stripe in some of the same prints that are on the front. Hopefully she likes that part, I didn’t tell her. Hehe…shhh….it’s a surprise!

Here is a (perhaps not so good) super close up picture of the front. From close up, you can see that I have some polka dots, florals, stripes, solids, and many more patterns mixed into the color. I really like that purple zebra striped fabric.

Anyway, I don’t think you can see it in the picture, but the thread I used is actually a pastel colored varigated rainbow thread. Since I had so many different colors on the front, I couldn’t choose just one color of thread for the quilting, so I used a rainbow thread. And really, I don’t think the recipient of the quilt will mind. 😉

And here is a super close up of the back. I used the same quilting pattern as in the Fire & Ice quilt. For the back thread I used a bright/neon colored varigated rainbow thread. You might not be able to see it very well in the pictures, but the bright colors really pop against the black. It’d say it’s pretty cool (if I do say so myself). I figured that combined with the larger fabric stripe brings a little rainbow to every side of the quilt.

I don’t have any close up pictures of the binding, but it again was sturdy and awesome in the wash. As usual, I attached the binding with my machine to the front and then finished sewing it to the back by hand. I’ve found that this technique looks the neatest (doesn’t show any seam lines) and is the sturdiest since I am able to control exactly where my stitches are on the back.

As with most quilts I make, I was super nervous to wash this one because I didn’t want any of the colors to bleed and run. But also as usual, I didn’t have any problems. I put like 3 color catcher sheets in with because I was so nervous, but they all came out clean.

Let me know what you think of the Rainbow Quilt!

2 responses to “Rainbow Quilt Finished

  1. Pingback: A Lovely Year of Finishes: March Finish | Darcie Mair·

Leave a Reply

