Blue Rail Fence Quilt

I can finally share the Blue Rail Fence Quilt I made as a surprise Christmas present for the wife of a co-worker of the Hubs.

I’m pretty excited about this quilt. It was super easy and fun to make! It fits a double/full sized bed. The best thing I love about this quilt is that it is extremely versatile. The recipient’s favorite color is blue, so I accented the black and white with blue stripes, but I could easily use any color to personalize the pattern for someone else.
Here are a few closeup pictures so that you can see what I mean:
Front Detail
Back Detail
If you can’t see from the closeups, I used a zig zag stitch along the seam lines which created a lovely overall zig zag pattern on the back. Speaking of the back, another cool feature of this quilt is the back. I used a soft flannel so the quilt is nice and snuggly. 🙂
*Tip* I had never used flannel as a back before, and it was a lot easier than I expected. I did have to pre-wash the flannel so that it wouldn’t shrink too much after the quilting. I lost about 3 inches on each side after the pre-wash, so definitely take that into account when buying flannel for the backing of quilts.

Leave a Reply

