WiP Wednesday: Madrona Road Fabric Challenge

After the rush and madness of finishing projects before Christmas, my craft room has been a little abandoned so far this year. But I’m finally getting back into the swing of things this week.

Back in December, we received our allotment of Madrona Road fabric designed by Violet Craft for Michael Miller Fabrics, and I am just now starting on that project. Whoopsy. 🙂 Oh well, I’m not worried. I’ve finally picked out a pattern to make with my fabric. It was a little difficult this time because I usually choose (get inspired by) a pattern first and then find fabric to go with it, so my process was reversed for this challenge.

I’ve decided to use Lindsay (from Lindsay Sews)’s tutorial “Quick Triangles Baby Quilt” as my pattern. The pattern is specifically designed for 6 fat quarters, which is the exact amount we got at the IMQG meeting back in December. Also, since I only have until the end of January to finish this quilt, “quick” sounded like the right idea. And, since Lindsay is a member of the IMQG, it also seemed fitting to use this pattern for the Challenge as the Challenge is a part of the IMQG. 🙂

Here is what I have so far…

Not much, but it’s a good start….I hope. Don’t judge me! LOL. Not seen in the picture, is the solid white fabric for the border of the quilt. I also plan on using the leftover strips from the fat quarters as well as the border fabric for a scrappy binding. I’m hoping the border and scrappy binding while look good after I piece the blocks together… 🙂
Anyway, linking up for my first WiP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced. Super exciting!!
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

4 responses to “WiP Wednesday: Madrona Road Fabric Challenge

  1. I'm using my Madrona Road to make half-square triangles, too, but I paired mine with white–trying to make the print fabrics go a little further. 🙂 Can't wait to see your finished quilt!

    Like

  2. I've also started a Madrona Road quilt, and it's such fun to see what other people are doing. Thanks for the sneak peak at your quilt–I'll look forward to seeing the end result!

    Like

  3. I thought about doing that…which is why I ended up with a white border hehe. I'm ok with it being a small quilt since I have a limited amount of fabric. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

