Madrona Road Challenge Quilt

As a member of the Indianapolis Modern Quilt Guild, I have been participating in the Madrona Road Fabric Challenge. We were given 6 fat quarters of the new Madrona Road line of fabric designed by Violet Craft for Michael Miller and told to “quilt something”. 🙂

This challenge was definitely…well…a *challenge* for me. Usually I start with a pattern and then find cool fabrics to fit that pattern. But this time, I started with the fabric, so it took awhile to find a pattern. In the end, I settled on pattern made by IMQG’s own Lindsay from Lindsay Sews. The pattern is called “Quick Triangles Baby Quilt”.

IMG_0840

Since I wasn’t able to start on this project until after Christmas, I only had about a month to start and finish the quilt. I wanted something quick and small, and Lindsay’s pattern fit both perfectly. It only called for 6 fat quarters which was perfect since I was a little unwilling to buy more fabric. After all, it was a challenge to use what we were given, right? 🙂 The final quilt size measures about 36″ x 51″.

MR Detail

In the end, I did end up buying an extra half yard for the strip in the back, but that’s ok. I also used Kona white for the border and backing.

MR Back
I used the leftover Madrona Road and Kona White for the scrappy binding as well.
MR Detail
Since I was a bit pressed for time, I decided on simple straight diagonal lines to match the larger strips of Madrona Road in the quilt pattern. I love how the quilting seems to disappear in the half yard strip on the back. I also love the crinkly look it gets after it ran through the washer once.
MR Close Up
MR Detail
You should definitely check out the rest of the IMQG’s Madrona Road quilts, these ladies are way more talented than me. 🙂 There is also a Flickr group for finished quilts worth taking a look at as well.

4 responses to “Madrona Road Challenge Quilt

  1. Love it! Thanks for posting in the IMQG so I could find your blog! I'm so glad you were able to make this with just the fat quarters you were given, and almost zero extra fabric! That's pretty sweet. 🙂

    Like

  2. I'm not sure if you've received one before, but since I think you're pretty awesome, I totally nominated you for a Liebster. :)http://hotpinkquilts.blogspot.com/2013/01/liebster-goodness.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

