A February Finish and March Goals

February was a slow sewing month for me. I was away from my machine for the first part of the month which really slowed down my sewing momentum and motivation. 😦 BUT, I did manage to finish my Scrap Happy Sampler BOM for January and February.

As I’ve already blogged about Jan’s block here, I’ll just show you Feb’s BOM.
  Feb BOM_2
I LOVE these hexi-flowers. I just couldn’t help myself from using rainbow colors hehe. I was a little nervous about the technique at first since I had never tried English Paper Piecing. But as it turns out, it was super easy! It also gave me something to do while watching our nightly T.V shows during the week.
I do have to admit that I didn’t hand sew the whole block though…
Feb BOM_3

”MySince I’m not a big fan of, or skilled in, applique, I cheated and used the zig zag stich on my machine to sew the flowers onto the background fabric. But I’m ok with that because it still looks pretty cool, and it was way faster and easier. 🙂

As for new goals in March, they are pretty much the same as February since I didn’t really finish…well…anything. :-/

March goals:
-Scrap Happy Sampler BOM
-Piece Modern Mystery quilt top (UFO from 2012)
-Piece Shannon’s quilt top (UFO from 2012)
Naughty Secretary Bag from SewSweetness
I feel a lot more confident that I’ll actually complete my to-do list this month. The IMQG is doing a 12 hour Sew-a-thon mid-March so that should be pretty fun. Since I won’t be sewing at home it will give me a chance to finish some of the projects that I’ve lost interest in without any distractions around the house.
A little late to the bandwagon, but I think I’ll start linking up with A Lovely Year of Finishes over at Sew Bittersweet Designs.The ONE project that I really want to finish is the Modern Mystery quilt top. You can see my early progress here….but I haven’t done much since finishing the blocks. They just didn’t excite me the way other projects have in the past, but I do want to practice FMQ on this quilt. SO that means I need to finish the top so I can move on to the quilting fun.

So hopefully joining A Lovely Year of Finishes will help keep me on track with this quilt top. 🙂

 

3 responses to “A February Finish and March Goals

  1. Everyone always says EPP is no problem, but I'm still terrified! Your hexies look great though, and I love the rainbow! Yay for March goals!

    Like

Leave a Reply

