A Lovely Year of Finishes: March Finish

Earlier in the month, I set myself a goal to finish the Modern Mystery quilt top. I had been putting it off for months and just wanted to get it over with and move on. Well…I’m happy to say that I did indeed finish the quilt top! And not only that, but the entire quilt as well!! Woohoo!!!

MM_front 1
Measures 49″x64″
I think it turned out a lot better than I expected. After much deliberation with the awesome and helpful ladies of the IMQG, I changed the front layout a little and ended with this. I’m pleased with it, I especially love the brightness and pop when you first look at it….though that could be my color choice. Haha.

Since I deviated a little from the front pattern, I tried to bring some of the off-center design in the back. I had a few left over pieces from the scrappy binding which ended up being perfect for the back. Is it okay to love the back more than the front? πŸ™‚

MM_back
Another reason why I’m excited to share this finish is because it’s my first “full” sized quilt done in free motion quilting. It is the biggest quilt I have free motion quilted at 49″x64″. I have dabbled a little (nothing I will ever show the public! lol) in FMQ, but decided to jump in full force with this quilt. Since I wasn’t in love with it, and have no specific recipient in mind, I figured it would be the perfect opportunity to practice FMQ.
MM_detail 1
I figured all over stippling would probably be the easiest way to ease into FMQ. Overall, I think I did a pretty good job. Don’t look too closely though, there are a TON of mistakes. Good thing I’m not a perfectionist because it would have taken twice as long to finish. I don’t really think it’s “giveaway” quality, so this baby might be staying home with me forever. πŸ™‚
MM_detail 2For both the front and back, I used some leftover pastel rainbow thread from my previous Rainbow Quilt. The thread matched perfectly with the pinks and purples.

At first I was a little nervous about using such a bold color (as opposed to white, which might have blended in better) for the quilting. I figured it would only make all my mistakes just that much more obvious (which it did), but I got over it. Hehe, I felt so strongly that it was the right thread to use, I figured what the heck, might as well go for it.

I especially LOVE the way the thread shows up over the gray pieces. It kind makes me wish I had more gray in the quilt overall.

Okay, now that I’m done gushing over my Modern Mystery quilt, I have one other March finish to show off. My Scrap Happy Sampler block of the month. In the chaos of finishing my MM quilt, I almost forgot I even finished this block at the beginning of the month. I apologize for just now getting around to sharing it.

Mar BOM complete
I’m linking up with Sew BitterSweet Designs for the March Finishes Party of A Lovely Year of Finishes. πŸ™‚

2 responses to “A Lovely Year of Finishes: March Finish

  1. Darcie, it's wonderful!!! Wayyy better….I may have to try the chopping off the edges of the rectangles thing, cuz it looks way better than the original pattern. I'm still thinking of putting my circles on the “back” and making a two-sided quilt since I already had kindof an idea of what to do with those..and of course you know I love your variegated thread πŸ™‚ Looks fantastic for your first FMQ project, can't wait to see it in person!! Bring it to show and tell πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

