WiP Wednesday

So far April has been pretty productive around here. I only have have three items on my must-do sewing list for the month, and I’m feeling pretty confident I’ll get all 3 finished. *crosses fingers*

Bloom Bloom Pow Quilt Along

I’m super excited to share this work in progress! For once I’m actually on track to keep up with the quilt along. Granted, I’m just squeaking by before the next step is posted tomorrow, but it still counts! πŸ˜›

Step 1: Buying the Fabric

I was super pumped to purchase this lovely stack of Pearl Bracelets from Westwood Acres (as suggested by Lee). Of course I was ambitious and decided to make the throw sized quilt, rather than the baby.

BBP_fabric stack
Step 2: Sorting (and staring at all the loveliness)
I sorted my lights, mediums, and darks as suggested by Lee. I think my stacks ended up being a lot like hers, but that just means I’m doing it right…right?
BBP_colors sorted
I also started thinking about how to pair my colors and stacks in preparation to cut the strips for piecing.
BBP_color picking
BBP_color picking 2
Step 3: Cutting (and more sorting on the fly)The throw sized quilt calls for 25 full blocks and 6 half blocks….that meant A LOT of color sorting/matching. I started out with the easy (obvious) color matches to get an idea of what I was working with. The darks were the easiest to match because they could only be used for the petals, and the lights were easiest to start with alongside the darks because they could only be used as the background…or “shadows” as Hubs called them. πŸ™‚

BBP_cutting 2
Then I moved onto the obvious medium and light combinations…
BBP_cutting 1
BBP_cutting 3Then I ran out of room on my ironing board to keep all of the “blocks” straight…and chaos ensued. :)Well, not really, but I did end up juggling the strips around trying to remember which combinations I had already cut and decided on.

After all of the easy and obvious color matches were made, I had Hubs come take a look to help figure out the rest of my blocks. Two pairs of eyes are better than one right? It was actually kind of fun trying to figure out which two colors I hadn’t matched already that still looked good next to each other. (Side note: I was determined NOT to have too many repeats)

Some of the blocks at the end got a little creative as I worked with the last bits of my fabric. I’ll leave those as a surprise for later. πŸ˜‰

AND….one more picture just because it was really fun taking pictures of all those colors on my ironing board. πŸ™‚

BBP_cutting 4

Purple Quilt Top

I’ve made some decent progress on this quilt top. I’m using the pattern “Framed Coins” fromΒ Julie Herman’sΒ bookΒ Skip the Borders. I have about half of the blocks finished, and the other half 90% complete.

purple quilt_block stack
The original patterns yields a smaller quilt than the one requested, so I ended up having to make extra blocks and tweak the layout a little bit. Here is what I have so far….but it will probably change as more blocks are made. πŸ™‚
purple quilt peek 2
Overall, I’m pretty pleased with the way it is turning out. Though I’m a little scared to finish the top because that means I have to move on to quilting this mother. EEK! Oh well, one step at a time, right?

Scrap Happy Sampler BOM

While I haven’t actually started on this item, it should take too long to finish. And I’m pretty excited to dive back into my smaller scraps for this block. πŸ™‚

Whew, now that I’m done blabbering about my sewing, I think I’ll go and sew some more. Teehee.

Linking up for WiP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced. πŸ™‚

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

4 responses to “WiP Wednesday

  1. I always use my ironing board for sorting too. πŸ™‚ Love watching your progress on the BBP. I am taking my fabrics to a sewing retreat this weekend to work on, and I am excited to make progress. I am not using the pearl bracelets, though, and I am having a real hard time finding lights. So this should be interesting. Love your purple quilt too. Good luck!

    Like

  2. It is so hard not to join that QAL, especially since I keep seeing all sorts of fun pictures of delicious fabric! Can't wait to see your end result! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

