Finished Purple Quilt!

I finally finished Shannon’s Purple Quilt! It only took…er…2 1/2 years… Luckily she was very patient with me. In fact, from the time the idea of the quilt was hatched to the time it was finished, she met and got engaged to the man she wants to spend the rest of her life with! Hopefully he likes purple. πŸ˜‰

IMG_1645
The quilt is a massive 96 inches by 96 inches. The biggest quilt I’ve made to date. Normally queen sized quilts do not need to be *that* big to fit on a bed, but this pattern was difficult to change the size. I used Jaybird Quilts’ pattern “Framed Coins” from her book “Skip the Borders.” You can find her blog and book here.
The pattern in the book wasn’t quite big enough for Shannon’s bed, so I had to modify it by adding some extra blocks. But the pattern is written in such a way that the quilt would have ended up either way to small or way to big. I opted for way to big. πŸ™‚ Of course, during the process, I sorely regretted that decision.
purple quilt front
My quilt holders were a little short on one end. Teehee. You should have seen them teetering on folding chairs desperately trying to hold up the quilt long enough for me to snap a good picture.
Anyway, on to the details. For the purple I used Kona Wisteria, Crocus, Tulip, and Purple. The black and white prints are a random assortment (aka impossible to name them all). The actual construction of the quilt was actually pretty easy and kind of fun playing with the layout of all the blocks.
purple quilt back

The back of the quilt was pieced together using scraps from the front and polka dots. I love polka dots. πŸ™‚ Any chance I get to use them I do. Perhaps this is why I love Shannon because she got super excited when I showed her the backing fabric.

This back and I have a love-hate relationship. It started out really awesome, until I ran into partial seams, short sides, and too little fabric. I had to really scrape together enough fabric leftover to get a back big enough to quilt the darn thing. There may have been a few swear words floating out from the sewing room that day…

Purple Quilt-quilting in progress

The quilting of this beast really gave my arms, shoulders, and tiny machine a workout. I may or may not have looked into buying a used long arm machine because of this project. (And am still entertaining the idea even though this project is finished)

At first I thought free motion quilting would be the easiest because I could work in small sections…yeah….no. I ended up using a walking foot and straight lines to give my arms a break. I used a purple variegated sulky thread that blended the four shades of purple nicely. I think Amy over at 13 Spools is starting to rub off on me with her love of variegated threads. LOL

purple quilt

The result ended up really nice. You can’t see it in the picture, but in each black and white rectangle I quilted an X. I think the straight lines help bring out the purple nicely. Or maybe that’s just my opinion because it is really the only quilt pattern that would work. πŸ˜‰

Also, check out that binding! It is from Lotta Jansdotter’s new line “Sylvia” that I purchased at Crimson Tate. Gotta love a great local shop with a fabulous owner to help pick out binding for you. πŸ™‚

purple quilt pillows
Sometime during the 2 years it took to make this quilt, I did manage to whip up a few matching pillows. Again using scraps from the main quilt. These pillows were used as a distraction when the actual quilt was too frustrating to work on. AND they were a surprise. πŸ™‚ Of course Shannon hid her face while holding them up for me. Silly girl. The back has an overlapping flap closure so that if she needs to wash them, the covers are easy to remove. Plus, more polka dots. πŸ™‚
I apologize for the lengthy post, but this quilt deserved some major blog time. I’ve been talking about it forever, and even though it had its ups and downs, I’m kind of sad to see it go. But at least it is going to a good home. πŸ™‚

One response to “Finished Purple Quilt!

Leave a Reply

