Double-Sided, Red and White, Queen-Sized Quilt!

A few months ago I was asked to make a queen sized, red and white, double-sided quilt. The size was not an issue for me as I’ve made large quilts before and actually find them quite fun. However, I had never done a red and white quilt and I had definitely never made a double-sided quilt either. But I’m not one to shy away from a challenge. I care more about making the customer happy than making an easy quilt. 🙂

 

Double-Sided, Red and White, Queen Sized Log Cabin Quilt Double-Sided, Red and White, Queen Sized Dresden Quilt

So, I had two criteria to figure out. The red and white part was the easiest challenge. I had heard through the quilty rumor mill that red has a tendency to bleed, especially when paired with white. To combat the bleeding, I simply pre-washed all the fabrics used in the quilt. Normally I don’t pre-wash, but this was a special case.

log cabin close up

The second criteria was the double-sided aspect. I had never made a double-sided quilt before, but didn’t think it would be too difficult. I usually piece my backings with leftover fabric from the front anyway, so what was the big deal? lol

Ok, on to the details. The “first” side is a log cabin pattern. I absolutely LOVE this side of the quilt. I used a combination of reds and low volumes to create the pattern. A log cabin quilt has been on my bucket list for awhile, so now I can cross that one off. Hooray!

flat log cabin side

The second side of the quilt is a Dresden pattern variation, another pattern that has been on my bucket list for awhile. I started with a small 3″ dresden in the top left corner and then ended with a large dresden in the opposite corner.

Since the log cabin side has so many seams and pieces, I wanted the opposite side of the quilt to have a lot more negative space and be a little more relaxed in terms of intense design. That way they can have a different look and feel just by flipping over the quilt.

flat dresden side

 

The dresdens use the same reds as on the log cabin side. While they are scrappy, I think all the different patterns lend themselves well to the nature of the dresden.

dresden close up

 

Probably the biggest unforeseen problem I discovered when doing a double-sided quilt is the amount of layers and weight of the quilt. Usually the backing is only one layer of fabric with only a few seams. But with two “fronts” making up both sides of the quilt it gets pretty heavy and thick.

For the quilting, I wanted to keep it simple. I needed something that would look good on both patterns, and out came up with simple loops. It was easy to quilt around the bulkier seams, while keeping the shape of the loops.

quilting detail

 

Overall, I think the double-sided quilt turned out well. BUT, I’m not sure I would be too quick to do another one. Trying to match up the two fronts and find a quilt pattern that would fit both sides was difficult. If I had done just the log cabin or just the Dresden pattern I would have picked a different quilting pattern. But that just goes to show that there is no wrong way to make a quilt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

