WIP Wednesday: Happy Tones HSTs

It has been awhile since I’ve been able to share a work in progress. Most of the projects I work on are for other people (and usually a surprise) so I can’t share any “WIP” photos. Sometimes I can’t even share the finished product right away.

BUT I’m finally working on a project for me! And I can share this one from start to finish. 🙂 I don’t have a name for it yet, usually names come at the end or during the whole process. For clarity sake, I’ve been calling it the Happy Tones HSTs. Super creative since I’m using a layer cake of the Happy Tones line by Michael Miller spliced with solid white to make Half Square Triangles (HSTs).


Happy Tones HST stack

 

When I worked on Amy’s “Squareburst” quilt, I immediately fell in love with the green flower print (Jemma) from the Happy Tones line. It reminds me of four leaf clovers, which I love. I’ve also used the same print in pink for another project (look for that post soon). I looked up the entire line and fell in love with it. It just screams “me”. LOL
happy tones_jemma_green

So I bought a layer cake of the line and saved it, waiting for the perfect project to present itself. And then one day, while bingeing on Pinterest, I found a picture of this quilt. I cannot find the original source, but I love it! So if anyone has info on this quilt, please let me know! 🙂

modern and hoffman challenge quilts 008

 

Since I can’t find the original, I don’t have a pattern for it. And there are a few key things I would change in the layout. So I’m merely using this picture as a spring board for a HST layout. A few weekend ago, the Indy Modern Quilt Guild went on a retreat in Brown County, Indiana. I spent the entire Sunday sewing HSTs and arranging this preliminary layout on the ground.

Happy Tones HST early layout

 

Here is a picture of the beginning. I started in the center with blues and worked my way out in rainbow color order. I’m sure the layout will change as I go, but I’m aiming for random symmetry. Does that make sense? Haha. My brain does not like to make things asymmetrical, but I also like the “randomness” of the inspiration photo. So that’s what I’m going for with my layout. 🙂

Stay tuned for more progress pictures after I get that giant stack of HSTs trimmed.

3 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Happy Tones HSTs

  1. Did you ever find the pattern? This is so colorful and full of life. Both yours and the unknown. Maybe that’s a name for your blog.something with “full of life”

    Like

Leave a Reply

